Microtone Scale

A typical octave scale contains 12 semitones (or pitches). In contrast, a microtonal scale can have anywhere from 13 to 88 intervals or notes within a single octave, compared to only 12 notes in the traditional octave scale. 

Octave Scale with 12 Semitones


Microtone Scale with 24 Semitones

Microtone Scale3.gif

Microtonal music is fully codified with complicated notations in a musical score so that performers can play the exact microtones intended by the composer. Click the play button to hear Carrillo's music.

Julian Carrillo (1875-1965)


Preludio a Cristobal Colon

Carrillo Colon2.jpg